Transport for the North

Area covered

Blackburn with Darwen, Blackpool, Cheshire East, Cheshire West & Chester, Cumbria, Durham, East Riding of Yorkshire, Greater Manchester, Hull, Lancashire, Leeds, Liverpool, Newcastle, North East Lincolnshire, North Lincolnshire, North Yorkshire, Sheffield, Tees Valley, Warrington, York

Note: Strategic Rail , which is part of Transport for the North covers an area that extends into the Midlands Connect area so there are some authorities with a foot in both sub-national transport bodies.


Independent chairman, all the local highways authorities, except Liverpool and Sheffield which are represented by their city region mayors, former Rail North Authorities (Strategic Rail): Derbyshire, Lincolnshire, Nottinghamshire and Staffordshire County Councils, Nottingham City Council and Stoke on Trent City Council, LEPs: Cheshire and Warrington, Cumbria, Greater Manchester, Hull and Humber, Lancashire, Leeds City Region, Liverpool City Region, North East, York North Yorkshire and East Riding, Sheffield City Region, Tees Valley, Network Rail, Highways England, HS2 Ltd

Statutory Status

Statutory body since 2018

Transport Strategy

It adopted its Strategic Transport Plan in 2019

More information can be found on their website.